How to Grade a Rare Coin

coin grading guide for kids

Time for YOU to be the teacher and give your coins a grade!

Are you interested in collecting rare coins? If so, then you may have seen a number rating (ranging from 1-70) used to describe the condition of the coin. This number is called the coin’s “grade” — and just like your school grades, the higher the number the better the score.

This scale is known as the Sheldon coin grading scale. It’s used to tell you about the condition of a coin before you or your parents buy it. Though this scale is useful once you understand it, it can be confusing for beginning coin collectors.

So if you’re new to the world of coin collecting, grab a magnifying glass, your coin collection, and scroll down to learn more how to find out the grade of your favorite coins.

What is the Sheldon Coin Grading Scale?

Although the Sheldon scale is a fairly complex system, it’s quite easy to grasp the basics of it once you get used to it. Here are the basic grades of the scale and what they mean, in order from worst to best:

If the date and mintmark of the coin is undetectable, then the coin can’t be graded and is considered “ungradable.”

We hope you enjoyed learning about how to grade a coin! Continue browsing our Kids Coin Corner for other fun and informative articles.

Other Favorite Posts You Might Like...

Arches National Park Silver Coin Beginning in 2010, the United States Mint began releasing the America the Beautiful coin series designed to celebrate America’s national parks and historic sites. The Arches National Park silver coin ...
Do You Know the Parts of Your Coins? If you're a kid coin collector, then you're obviously pretty smart. But just how smart are you when it comes to knowing all the parts of the coins that you love so much? Read on to see just how muc...
Teaching 6-12 Graders about the Stock Market Discover some great tips and resources for educating kids on stocks, investing and money management Most experts agree that it’s never too early to start teaching children how to save. Even from an...